top of page

Nominations For the 31st Annual Tourism Profesional of the Year Now Open

Nominations for the 31st Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award are now being accepted. The nominees will be presented and the award made by the Academy of Hospitality and Tourism Advisory Board at the luncheon, to be held on November 10, 2022 at the Hyatt Regency Miami, the Presenting Sponsor of the event. The deadline for South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year nominations is October 7, 2022 and the nomination form can be found at

In addition to the Hyatt Regency Miami being the Presenting Sponsor of the event, Show Technology, a South Florida based audio visual production company, is supporting the event as a Signature Sponsor. Nominees for this prestigious award and additional sponsors will be announced in the coming weeks.

Distinguished past recipients of the Tourism Professional of the Year Award include Dr. Peter Ricci, Florida Atlantic University, Dr. Paul George, History Miami, George Neary, Tours “R” Us, Wendy Kallergis, GMBHA, Henry Delgado, Smith & Wollensky, Rocco Angelo, Florida International University Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management, William Talbert, III, Alvin West, Sr. GMCVB, and Academy Founders, Stuart Blumberg, Retired, Greater Miami & the Beaches Hotel Association, Bob Dickinson, Retired, Carnival Cruise Lines, and the late Alyce Robertson, Miami Dade Downtown Development Authority, Tony Goldman, Goldman Properties, and Jeanne Westphal.

Celebrating 35 years of success, the Academy of Hospitality and Tourism is a member of the non-profit, NAF. NAF has refined a proven model that provides young people access to industry-specific curricular, work-based learning experiences and prepares them for college and industry careers. Academies (Hospitality & Tourism, Culinary, Education, and Arts and Entertainment) are in 20 Miami-Dade County public high schools. Proceeds of the luncheon benefit work-based learning activities and scholarships for AOHT students and professional development for teachers.

Tickets for the South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award luncheon are $130.00 for an individual ticket or $1250 for a table/vendor sponsorship. Tickets can be purchased online at , go to

By ML Staff. Images Courtesy of Tourism Professional


bottom of page