top of page

Kim Clijsters Withdraws From Miami Open 2021

Updated: Mar 15, 2021

Four-time Grand Slam champion and former world No. 1, Kim Clijsters, has been granted a wildcard into the 2021 Miami Open but recently stated she won't be able to compete.

“I’ve had an intensive few weeks of training,” Clijsters, 37, stated on Twitter. “Unfortunately I am not where I need to be, especially if I want to compete with the best. I’m not ready to quit. I’m going to keep pushing and see what’s possible.”

Following a seven-year hiatus, the Belgian legend returned to professional women’s tennis in 2020. Clijsters has won 41 singles titles throughout her career and 11 doubles titles, including four Grand Slam singles titles and two Grand Slam doubles titles. Clijsters is also a three-time WTA Finals champion (2002, 2003, and 2010) and a 2005 and 2010 Women’s Singles Miami Open champion.

“The Miami Open was always a favorite stop on tour for me,” said Clijsters. “I have great memories and also had great results there. I’m excited to be coming back to Miami.”

Named one of the “30 Legends of Women’s Tennis: Past, Present and Future” by TIME magazine, Clijsters was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in July 2017. She was selected WTA Newcomer of the Year in 1999, Comeback Player of the Year in 2005 and 2009, and Player of the Year in 2005 and 2010.

Clijsters strengthens an already star-studded player field, including 20 players who have combined to win 97 career Grand Slam singles titles. Overall, 74 or the top 77 ranked men and 75 or top 78 ranked women are entered to play this year’s event, including reigning Australian Open champions Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka.

A limited number of full tournament packages to the 2021 Miami Open presented by Itaú are on sale now. Fans can go online to for more information.

Qualifying rounds will be March 22-23 and will determine 12 additional slots in each singles’ draw. The Miami Open also will award wildcards to five men and seven additional women. The women’s main draw begins on Tuesday, March 23, followed by the first round of the men’s main draw on Wednesday, March 24.

For ticket information, visit


bottom of page