top of page

Announcing the 2024 Polo Training Foundation Intercollegiate & Interscholastic Player of the Year Award Recipients

The United States Polo Association (USPA) and the Polo Training Foundation (PTF) are pleased to announce the 2024 PTF Intercollegiate and Interscholastic (I/I) Player of the Year award recipients. Chosen by a select committee involved with I/I polo, candidates were evaluated in three main categories – playing ability, contribution to the sport and sportsmanship. The following individuals have been named for their supreme example of horsemanship and leadership on and off the field.

Stephen A. Orthwein Intercollegiate Player of The Year

John Dencker

University of North Texas Polo Club (Denton, Texas)

Daniel J. Wallace Jr. Intercollegiate Player of The Year

Lea Jih-Vieira

University of Virginia (Charlottesville, Virginia)

Russell A. Sheldon Interscholastic Player of The Year

Daniel Arnold

Tinicum Park Polo Club (Erwinna, Pennsylvania)

Lynn Thompson Interscholastic Player of The Year

Aurora Knox

Maryland Polo Club (Jarrettsville, Maryland)

The Annual Polo Training Foundation awards for I/I Player of the Year are tentatively scheduled to be presented during the South Florida high-goal season in February 2025.

For more information on the Polo Training Foundation and Polo Training Foundation Programs, please visit their website at

By ML Staff. Content/Image courtesy of United States Polo Association. Top image courtesy of Chino Rocha/unsplash


bottom of page